Mangalore Pearl

22May16

IMG_4919All my life I stayed in coastal cities and seafood was part of almost every meal. Infact during the great lent (the 50 day fast before Easter during which non vegetarian food is not consumed), my dad declares fish is not considered non veg. I refrained from eating seafood when I moved to Bangalore, as even the top restaurants don’t serve fresh fish; but that changed when I was taken to Mangalore Pearl. A word of advice: it better to get there early for lunch since the seats are limited.

BeFunky Collage3
The hotel’s modest name board and narrow entrance is a stark contrast to its interiors. As you stumble towards your table, your attention is diverted by the wall art, a series of cartoons by Prakash Shetty (an eminent cartoonist), depicting the Mangalorean life. It’s better you decide on what you want in one go as menus are snatched back and food is served quickly. We started with the crab soup which was quite good though I confess I had a much better one at Palolem beach in Goa just two weeks ago. To drink we selected  cocoom juice (a dark red color drink; supposed to be full of anti-oxidants) and solkadi (spicy buttermilk mixed with cocoom). The solkadi was very delicious and I would recommend that. From the “specials” menu a baby crab fry which was very tasty if you are willing to work your way to the meat. In retrospect I wonder how can anyone order a dish with “baby” in its name. My mangalore friends always like to show off their neer dosas and chicken ghee roast. So we ordered a plate of that with rava fried Kaaney (lady fish). The ghee roast met expectations but I have never been a fan of rava fried fish; and this experience did not change my mind. The food was good, the ambience decent but the wash room hygenie could be better. Also they did not pass my liquid-soap-test. I am of the opinion that if a hotel is willing to water down their liquid soap, then they might be willing to compromise  on the quality of food. This is my no means a definite test.IMG_4939
IMG_4927-Pano-2IMG_4928-Pano-2IMG_4931-PanoIMG_4934-PanoIMG_4941IMG_4942IMG_4948IMG_4952-PanoIMG_4956

Mangalore Pearl Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

No Responses Yet to “Mangalore Pearl”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

