The Istheri Men of Kochi

10Aug14

The Istheri Men

The istheri petti (old fashioned iron box) has always fascinated me. My earliest memory involving one was when my grandfather let me carry the heavy tool, straddled between my legs, to the large dining table which doubled as an iron board. I would then climb on the adjacent tall chair and watch him deftly remove all the wrinkles. He would open the top of the box and let me watch the glowing coconut shells which I used to think were magical.

The Istheri Men provides a pick-and-drop ironing service and currently operating in Kaloor, Thammanam, Palarivattom, Panchavati, Kadavanthara and Ravipuram. The pressing and ironing are done using traditional iron boxes with hot coals. I haven’t tried out the service since there already is an ironing stall right opposite my gate.But I wish them luck on their novel initiative.

To try the service, call 7561049645

No Responses Yet to “The Istheri Men of Kochi”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

